Tuesday September 02, 2014

Pee Wee ‘AA’ Terriers win league again


For the third straight season the Yorkton Sherring Gold Peewee Terriers walked into Weyburn’s Crescent Point Place with one goal in mind: Win the SSMHL Peewee playoff title.

And for the third straight season the Sherring Gold Terriers did just that, this time doubling up Weyburn 6-3 in Game Two of the best-of-three league finals to win their third consecutive title on the road, once again in Weyburn.

Yorkton opened the scoring at 14:44 when Troy Bryksa beat Weyburn netminder Jordan Muhr for his fourth of the post season.

However the lead would be short lived as Weyburn evened the score less than two minutes later on a Cordell Larson goal to make it 1-1 after one period.

The Sherring Gold Terriers would once again take the lead, this time thanks to Aiden Bulych’s tenth goal of the playoffs less than five minutes into the middle frame.

A Colby Vranai powerplay goal, his second goal of the playoffs and first on the night, made it 3-1 Yorkton with two minutes to go.

Thirty-six seconds later and Carson Dereniwsky’s point shot made it 4-1 with just 1:23 left in the second period all but clinching the Sherring Gold Terriers’ third league title in a row.

The two teams traded a pair of goals in the third period with Vranai tallying his second of the night while regular season leading scorer Zach McIntyre potted his 14th goal of the playoffs.

Weyburn’s final two goals came from Braden Birnie and Nolan Renwick however the result was never in doubt after the second period and Yorkton once again laid claim to the SSMHL Peewee playoff title in the form of a 6-3 victory.

Spencer Welke picked up the win in the Yorkton net while Muhr shouldered the loss for Weyburn.


The Yorkton Sherring Gold Terriers have been a dominant figure in Saskatchewan Peewee hockey over the past few years.

Provincially they’ve been the best team around, winning three straight Bill Ford Trophies, one each in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

They’ve also won three consecutive league titles, all over Weyburn and all by a sweep. However, Yorkton also won the 2010-11 SSMHL playoff title as the Yorkton Kozie Drywall Terriers by beating the Moose Mountain Wild in three games meaning Yorkton has won the SSMHL Pee Wee playoff crown four straight times; something unheard of in an age group where players can participate for just two years.

In addition, the Yorkton Peewee Terriers have also made it to the final of the prestigious Regina Pee Wee Classic hockey tournament, winning it in 2013 while finishing second in 2012 (to British Columbia’s Langley Eagles) and 2014 (to Manitoba’s Winnipeg Twins in overtime) respectively.

And with the way that the Yorkton Atom ‘AA’ team churns out players it’s fair to assume that the future is just as bright as the past for the Yorkton Pee Wee Terriers.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus



Lost your password?