Committee/Commission/Board appointments approved

In the absence of Yorkton Mayor Bob Maloney at the regular meeting of Yorkton Council it fell to Deputy Mayor Mitch Hippsley to put forward the list of 2020 Committee/Commission/Board appointments for approval.

Hippsley asked Council to approve the list, and further, that the residency requirements for those members be waived where applicable, and that any members who have served terms longer than permitted in their respective bylaws and terms of reference be granted extensions to remain on those committees if desirous.

article continues below

Council support was unanimous.

*Denotes new member
** Denotes new Council 
Citizen Recognition Awards Committee (Council Policy No. 10.440 requires 2 members at large and 3 members of Council)
1. Gerry Peppler
2. Tom Seeley
3. Mayor Bob Maloney
4. Councillor Mitch Hippsley
5. Councillor Quinn Haider 
Community Development Parks and Recreation  
(Determined by Council as defined in The Cities Act Section 55 (a) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 6/2011) – (Bylaw permits for 7-10 members)
1. Delmar Zwirsky
2. Tonia Vermette  
3. Don Pfiefer
4. Sheena Brown
5. Christopher Kosteroski
6. Donna Brothwell
7. Councillor Randy Goulden
8. Councillor Aaron Kienle** 
Development Appeals Board (Requirement under The Cities Act Section 192. (1) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 2/2010)  
1. Arliss Dellow
2. Richard Bolt
3. Dustin Brears
4. Sheldon Stechyshyn
5. Jerome Niezgoda 
District Planning Commission (Requirement under The Planning and Development Act, 2007 Section 97(2)(ii) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 18/2007 (Bylaw requires 2 members of Council)
1. Mayor Bob Maloney
2. Councillor Ken Chyz  

Economic Development Committee (Determined by Council as defined in The Cities Act Section 55 (a) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 7/2011) (Bylaw requires 5 – 10 members)    
1. Terry Tyson
2. Marty Sveinbjornson  
3. Charles Ryder
4. Dustin Brears
5. Corey Werner
6. Connie Brown*
7. Sarah Jakubiec*
8. Councillor Aaron Kienle
9. Councillor Darcy Zaharia 
Emergency Measures Organization (Requirement under The Emergency Act Section 9 (1) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 7/98)
1. Trevor Morrissey, EMO Coordinator
2. Darcy McLeod, EOC Manager
3. Lonnie Kaal, City Manager
4. Jessica Matsalla, City Clerk
5. Ashley Stradeski, Director of Finance
6. Jeff Simpson, RCMP Staff Sergeant 
Environmental Committee (City of Yorkton Bylaw No.9/2011)  (Bylaw requires 2 members of Council and 7 Members at Large)
1. Doug Kitsch
2. Tom Courville
3. Stefan Bymak
4. Sandra Bilan
5. Shannon Erickson
6. Matt Poier
7. Jason Signarowski
8. Councillor Darcy Zaharia  
9. Councillor Aaron Kienle 
Gallagher Centre Board
(As per the Agreement with Yorkton Agricultural and Industrial Exhibition  Association – July 12/2013)
1. Councillor Randy Goulden (Chair)
2. Councillor Aaron Kienle
3. Councillor Mitch Hippsley
4. Councillor Quinn Haider
5. Councillor Ken Chyz 
Municipal Heritage Advisory Sub-Committee (Required under The Heritage Property Act, Section 10 and Bylaw No. 5/2011) (Bylaw requires 3-6 members)
1. Gene Denischuk
2. Doug Kitsch
3. Larry Pearen 

Planning and Infrastructure Commission (Determined by Council as defined in The Cities Act Section 55 (a) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 5/2011)  (Bylaw requires 7-11 members)
1. Patricia Zaryski (Christ the Teacher Roman Catholic Separate School Division)
2. Eleanor Shumay
3. Dorothy Ostapowich
4. Gord Gendur (Good Spirit School Division)
5. Glen Tymiak
6. Mike Popowich
7. Eugene Fedorowich  
8. Mayor Bob Maloney
9. Councillor Randy Goulden 
Property Standards Appeal Board
(Pursuant to Section 329 of The Cities Act)
1. Councillor Ken Chyz (Chair)
2. Councillor Mitch Hippsley
3. Councillor Aaron Kienle
4. Mayor Bob Maloney
5. Councillor Darcy Zaharia 
Protective Services Committee (Determined by Council as defined in The Cities Act Section 55 (a) and City of Yorkton Bylaw No.8/2011) (Bylaw requires 2 members of Council and 8 Members at Large)
1. Andrew Sedley
2. Marlon Milbrandt
3. Gerry Peppler
4. Michelle Goulden
5. Terri-Ann Lepowick
6. Lauretta Ritchie- McInnes
7. Donna Evans
8. Larry Pearen
9. Councillor Mitch Hippsley
10. Councillor Ken Chyz**    

Yorkton Business Improvement District (As established under The Cities Act Section 25 and City of Yorkton Bylaw No.10/2012)  (Bylaw requires 10 members elected – Council ratified)
1. Bruce Thurston  
2. Gale Pelletier  
3. Andrew Rae
4. Lindsay Teichroeb
5. Phoebe Buckle
6. Jordon Schener
7. Dave Nussbaumer*
8. Corey Werner*
9. Sandy Kerr*
10. Doug Hull*
11. Councillor Ken Chyz 

Yorkton Housing Corporation Board (As established by City of Yorkton Bylaw No. 46/2008)   (Bylaw requires all 7 members of Council) Mayor Bob Maloney
1. Councillor Darcy Zaharia (Chair)
2. Councillor Ken Chyz
3. Councillor Randy Goulden
4. Councillor Quinn Haider
5. Councillor Mitch Hippsley
6. Councillor Aaron Kienle 
Yorkton Airport Authority (As per the Terms of Reference and requirements under The Corporations Act) (T.o.R. requires 5-9 Directors)
1. Mayor Bob Maloney
2. Councillor Ken Chyz
3. Councillor Randy Goulden
4. Councillor Quinn Haider
5. Councillor Mitch Hippsley
6. Councillor Aaron Kienle
7. Councillor Darcy Zaharia 
Yorkton Public Library Board (As established under The Public Libraries Act, 1996, Section 13) (Membership is 5-9 members one of which may be a Councillor)
1. Lauretta Ritchie-McInnes
2. Margaret Phillips
3. Eileen Dellow
4. Shirley Glauser
5. Juanita Brown
6. Karen Stepko*
7. Councillor Quinn Haider
8. Darcy McLeod, Ex-Officio 
Parkland Regional Library Board
(As per The Public Libraries Act, 1996: Section 32 (3) and 32 (4)) (Membership may provide for up to 4 appointments from Yorkton Public Library Board and alternates) 
1. Lauretta Ritchie-McInnes
2. Juanita Brown
3. Shirley Glauser
4. Councillor Quinn Haider 
1. Margaret Phillips
2. Eileen Dellow
​​​​​​​3. Karen Stepko* 



© Copyright Yorkton This Week


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Hospital POLL

With Premier Scott Moe in the city visiting the local hospital do you feel an announcement of a new hospital in Yorkton is critical leading up to a fall provincial election?

or  view results

Sign Up for Our Newsletter!

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.

Popular Yorkton News