Fonehill & Yorkton natives to receive provincial recognition awards

Kamsack and Norquay recipients as well

Former residents of Yorkton,Phone Hill, Kamsack and Canora will be honoured by the Ukrainian Canadian Congress of Saskatchewan (UCC Saskatchewan).

The organization has announced that this year’s Nation Builders & Community Recognitions Awards Luncheon will be held on Sunday, Oct. 20, in the Regency Ballroom of the Hotel Saskatchewan in Regina, commencing at 1:00 PM.

article continues below


The Nation Builders & Community Recognition Awards acknowledge the worthy contributions of Saskatchewan Ukrainians who have made a lasting impact on Saskatchewan and Canada, preserved our place in the history of our province and country, and fostered pride in our Ukrainian Canadian identity and achievements while inspiring others — including youth and newcomers — to serve and contribute to their communities.


The Nation Builders Award is bestowed to persons who have made meritorious contributions which have had a significant impact, left a legacy, and/or who have provided an exemplary role model to the Ukrainian community and/or Saskatchewan and Canada. The individuals who will be honoured this year as Nation Builders are:


• Dr. John Kuspira (Phone Hill, SK-Edmonton, AB)

• Edward Ratushny, Q.C. (Kamsack, SK-Ottawa, ON)

• Sandra Semchuk (Meadow Lake, SK-Vancouver, BC)


The Community Recognitions Award is presented to persons who have made meritorious contributions in one or more of the areas of: Youth Achievement; Leadership; Volunteerism; Cultural Preservation & Development, and/or creativity & innovation to the Ukrainian community and/or Saskatchewan and Canada. The 2019 Awards recipients are:


• Edward Diakow (Dobrowody district, SK) for Cultural Preservation & Development

• Naomi Lee (Weirdale, SK-Regina, SK) for Volunteerism

• †John Melnyk (Myrnam, AB-Regina, SK) for Leadership

• †Alexander Obarianyk (Secretan, SK-Regina, SK) for Cultural Preservation & Development

• Miroslaw (Mert) Ochitwa (Norquay, SK-Canora, SK) for Volunteerism

• Janis Olesko (Prince Albert, SK) for Leadership

• Aileen Pillipow (Yorkton, SK-Regina, SK) for Leadership

• Ivanna Knoll (Regina, SK) for Youth Achievement

• Paul Kodak (Saskatoon, SK) for Youth Achievement


Tickets to this year’s Awards Luncheon are $70 for adults (includes a $25 tax receipt) and $35 for children 12 years of age and under. The public is invited to attend and celebrate the achievements of the above-noted honourees. MasterCard, Visa and American Express orders can be made by calling toll-free 1.888.652.5850 (or 306.652.5850), ext. 101, or by visiting the UCC Saskatchewan office in Saskatoon at #4-2345 Avenue C North (corner of Avenue C and 45th Street).


The Nation Builders & Community Recognition Awards Luncheon and Presentation is held this year with thanks to our Diamond Sponsors: the Ukrainian Society of Prosvita – Regina, the Ukrainian Canadian Congress – Regina Branch, and Prince Albert & District Ukrainian Cultural & Heritage Association.


The Ukrainian Canadian Congress of Saskatchewan is a provincial organization that provides programs and services for the Saskatchewan community to maintain, develop and share its Ukrainian Canadian identity and aspirations.

© Copyright Yorkton This Week


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus