Scholarships awarded To deserving 4-H members

Each year, 4-H Saskatchewan awards scholarships to outstanding senior 4-H members from across the province, to assist them in their post-secondary education. 

article continues below

“As in previous years, we were impressed with the quality of applications we received,” Executive Director Cera Youngson said. “The 4-H Saskatchewan Scholarship Selection Committee had difficulties narrowing it down. Not only do these 4-H members excel academically, they are also leaders in their communities. We are excited to see what the future holds for each of them.” 

The scholarships are an important part of 4-H for the senior members and Youngson is thankful for the support the organization receives. 

“We are excited to have so many amazing sponsors, who have created scholarships for 4-H members pursuing post-secondary schooling,” she said. “This year, we were able to award more than $25,000 to our deserving members because of our supporters.” 

Congratulations to the following members, who were awarded a 4-H Saskatchewan Scholarship in 2019: 

• Entrepreneurial Scholarship for 4-H Members ($3,000) o Cody Somers of Eagle Hills Multiple 4-H Club (Battleford) o Emma Panter of Big River Multiple 4-H Club (Big River)  o Emily Letendre of Spruce Home Multiple 4-H Club (Spruce Home) 

 • Morris Industries Scholarship ($2,500) o Kyle Kirzinger of Viscount Beef 4-H Club (Viscount) 

 • Cervus Equipment Scholarship ($1,500) o Baylie Yasieniuk of Reigning Riders 4-H Club (Hafford)  o Lauren Soucy of Arborfield 4-H Multiple Club (Arborfield)  o Jenna Bernauer of Carlton Trail 4-H Horse Club (Lanigan)  o Morgan Lehmann of Rosthern 4-H Beef Club (Rosthern)  o Rachel Sutherland of the Crown Hill 4-H Beef Club (Borden) 

 • Hector Loveridge Memorial Fund Scholarship ($1,269.49)  o Dylan Watt of the Beechy Multiple 4-H Club (Beechy) 

 • Gordon & Eileen Bonnor Scholarship ($1,000)  o Megan Anderson of Crystal Springs Light Horse 4-H Club (Rosetown)

• The Western Producer Scholarship ($1,000) o Anya Kuziw of Durness 4-H Multi Club (Lloydminster) 

 • Saskatchewan Cattlement’s Association Award ($1,000)  o Shaylyn Novak of St. Walburg 4-H Club (St. Walburg) 

 • Palliser Insurance 4-H Scholarship ($500) o Doug Sroka of Maidstone Multiple 4-H Club (Maidstone)  o Sara Florence of Eagle Hills Multiple 4-H Club (Battleford) 

 • Bayer Cropscience 4-H Scholarship ($500) o Cabri Tanchak of Rockin’ H Multiple 4-H Club (Hafford) 

 • The McConaghy Award ($500) o Thea Valstar of Springside 4-H Beef Club (Springside) 

 • Future Leader Scholarship ($500) o Megan Reimer of Longlaketon Multiple 4-H Club (Cupar) 

 The Pro Farm Advancing Forward the Dairy Industry Award will be awarded later this year. 

In addition to awarding scholarships, the committee also awarded the Elgin Bracken Memorial 4-H Light Horse Award to Tatum Teal of Golburn Gallopers 4-H Club (Tisdale). 

© Copyright Yorkton This Week


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Terriers POLL

Do you feel the 25 game suspension to Yorkton Terrier Greg Mulhall for his hit on Melville goaltender Berk Berkeliev was...

or  view results