Aquadell team headed to Sask. Baseball Hall of Fame

The Aquadell Flyers Baseball Team has been selected to be inducted into  the Saskatchewan Baseball Hall of Fame, Team Category, this year on  Aug. 15, 2020, in Battleford.

The Aquadell Flyers operated from 1947 to 1972. The team began with a bunch of farm boys who resided in the Aquadell District which is halfway between Chaplin and Riverhurst. Aquadell now no longer exists, but consists of an old store and a storekeepers dwelling. Back in the thirties, there were 3 grocery stores, a Pool elevator, a box car for a railroad station, a blacksmith and welding shop, a fur buyer and a poolroom operator at which some of the locals would gather for a friendly poker game. If a player was up $5.00 he was a big winner!

article continues below

There was also a baseball team, the Aquadell Flyers, often referred to as ‘those guys from the hills’. This team was started in 1947 and continued for 25 years. Occasionally players from other districts played with the team. This talented team was a very enthusiastic group of baseball players.

The team played in the South Saskatchewan River Baseball League, which consisted of Riverhurst, Central Butte, Lawson and Thunder Creek. As well they played in 20-25 baseball tournaments each year, much to the chagrin of their parents who thought they should be home working! Tournament competition included games against such notable teams as Sceptre, Delisle and Lake Valley.

At the end of the season a competition was held for the South Saskatchewan River Baseball League Halstrom Trophy which was donated by Geo Halstrom, an avid baseball fan. The Aquadell Baseball Team won this trophy in 1948, 1949 and 1950. This trophy is displayed in the Saskatchewan Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Apparently both Elgin Myketiak, a very good pitcher and Maurice [Moe] Vold, a very good catcher, were scouted and offered tryouts in Detroit. This, however, never materialized. The reasons why has never been determined but Elgin’s son, Bill, recalls his father’s version was that he did not want to leave his wife to go to Detroit.

Names of the many players over the years include Mel Biggs, Elgin Myketiak, Geo Jennings, Ron Polley, Moe Vold, Art Nelson, Gus Peterson, Bill Jennings, Pat Jennings, Merlin Peterson, Norman Peterson, Joynes Peterson, Henry Lindquist, Ken Hamilton, Dick Gidik, Lloyd Nelson, Dennis Nelson, Lorne McInnis, Ron McInnis, William Gall, Grant Gall, Doug Scott, George Myketiak, Jack Webb, Clarence Giles, Roy Gower, Bob Chapman, Vernon Lindquist, Ernest Olson.

The Halstrom Trophy # 38, is displayed in the Saskatchewan Baseball Museum.


© Copyright Yorkton This Week


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Shopping POLL

Are you comfortable shopping at recently reopened businesses?

or  view results

Sign Up for Our Newsletter!

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.

Popular Yorkton News