Maulers year end awards banquet

More than 100 people came out to celebrate the Yorkton RawTec Maulers on Saturday, Mar. 25 at the Gallagher Centre.

Randy Atkinson hosted the banquet and speeches were made by Maulers’ head coach Kevin Rawlick, Maulers’ vice president Brian Ray and Tricia Korczak (on behalf of Kaeden Korczak).

The main event of the evening was the award presentation. Awards were handed out to the deserving Maulers players from the 2016-2017 season.

The awards and recipients were:

NAU Plaque (Hard Luck): Zach McIntyre. Westerhaug Buslines Plaque (Most Improved): Zach Halvorson. Josh Campbell Memorial Trophy (Mr. Hustle): Beau Stevenson. Park’s Jeweler last or no goal: Josh Bear. Andre Parker Memorial (Unsung Hero): Mackenzie Walkington. Sacred Heart Collegiate Scholastic (Highest Average): Tie between Nolan Maier and Mackenzie Walkington. Yorkton Regional High School Scholastic (Highest Average): Derrick Budz. Doug “Scoop” Hansen Memorial Trophy (Most Dedicated): Tie between Beau Stevenson and Jordan Schmuland. Gallagher Centre Plaque (Most Sportsmanlike): Trey Bear. Al Harrison Memorial (Top Scorer): Derrick Budz. Hometown Source for Sports (Top Defenseman): Kaeden Korczak. Yorkton Distributor/DuPont Canada Plaque (Top Forward): Derrick Budz. Reg Kachanowski Memorial Trophy (Top Goalie): Nolan Maier. Norm Lutcher Plaque (Top Rookie): Nolan Maier. Kastrukoff Family Award (Volunteer of the Year): Mark Johnson. Lamb/Odgers/Thompson Plaque (Coach’s Choice): Aiden Bulych. Joel Dennis Memorial Trophy (Leadership and Spirit): Kaleb Bulych. Henley Family Trophy (MVP): Kaeden Korczak.

Players aging out of the midget age group include Derrick Budz, Trey Bear, Kaleb Bulych and Zach Halvorson. However, the Maulers may lose more potential returners to higher levels of hockey.

Last week it was announced that Kevin Rawlick would be the official head coach of the RawTec Maulers for next season, after his impressive run as interim head coach at the end of this hockey season.

The Maulers have also announced their list of former affiliated players who are now committed to the 2017-2018 season. These players include Ryder Korczak, Jackson Berezowski and Austin Dycer from this year’s Yorkton bantam AA team, and  Carson Dereniwsky and Austin Dycer from this year’s Yorkton midget AA team.

All of the newly signed players are from Yorkton, with the exception of Huska who is originally from Preeceville.

article continues below
© Copyright Yorkton This Week


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Parking POLL

Should the city move to free parking in the downtown?

or  view results