Cable wins three trophies at Harvest awards night

The end of the hockey season was marked on Saturday when the Yorkton Harvest held their year end awards banquet.

Scoring 26 goals over the course of the season and adding the same number of assists proved to be enough to win three awards at Saturday's banquet.

The team's top point-getter Levi Cable walked off with one of the four memorial awards, including the Al Harrison Memorial trophy as the team top scorer. Then he was named the Cambrian Cup of Excellence recognizing the team MVP, and was also named the Top Forward.

Cable happened to be sitting at the back of the banquet hall; upon recognition of his second award which came only minutes after his first award; they joked that he should sit closer to the head table to save himself some walking time.

"I didn't expect to win so many awards," he told the media following a brief photo session with his teammates.
Cable is among the handful of players who is expected to make the jump up to the Junior ranks next season.
"Hopefully I'll go higher," when asked if he plans to return to AAA Yorkton next season.

The 16-year-old native of Hudson Bay had a strong season, winning the point title by one point over teammate Dustin Skilliter.

He also spent time this season with two SJHL teams (Melfort then Melville) and then got another call-up to the Western Hockey League (Kootenay Ice).

Cable said that overall it was a pretty good year for both himself and the team.

Should it be his final evening in the city, he said he won't forget his teammates.

"It's the friends you make while you were here."

Also having a good night was defenceman Devan Fafard who won a Scholastic award and the McDonald's Top Defenceman.

Other award winners included John Odgers (Doug Hansen Memorial award for Most Dedicated Player), Dustin Skilliter won the Joel Dennis Memorial award (Leadership), Kale Thomson, Reg Kachanowski award for top goalie, Josh Lees and Dustin Minto were co-winners of the Josh Campbell award Mr. Hustle award, Devan Fafard won the Top Defenceman award, sponsored by McDonald's, Tanner LeSann won the top rookie, sponsored by Norm Lutcher, Kody Thue won the most improved (GX 94) award, Fafard and Kade Halabuza won the Scholastic awards for both Yorkton high schools, Ryley Stefanyshyn was the Source Embroidery Most Sportsmanlike player, Kailum Gervais was the Hard Luck trophy winner, Denin Boesch was the Unsung Hero. Boesch led the team throughout the season in blocked shots, said Garrett, and rounding out the winners on the night was Ben Johnstone, taking the Coaches' award sponsored by Park's Jewellery.

article continues below
© Copyright Yorkton This Week


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Yorkton This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

City Ops POLL

Should council have approved the City Operations Centre Project as presented Monday?

or  view results